Alfa Romeo Giulietta (2010)

The new version of the Alfa Romeo Giulietta was launched in 2010 at the Geneva Motor Show. The Giulietta was intended to replace the discontinued Alfa Romeo 147. The 2010 Giulietta unlike the older models is a five-door hatchback which is built on the ‘Fiat Compact’ platform which will also be used for the upcoming Alfa Romeo Giulia and C-SUV.

Alfa Romeo Giulietta (2010)
Alfa Romeo Giulietta (2010)

The Giulietta is available in both front wheel and 4-wheel drive with around 8 different types of engine variants. The new engines introduced to this series are the turbocharged 1.4 liter T-jet petrol engine and the M-jet Diesel engine. The manual and dual dry clutch gearboxes are also available. The new Multiair system featured in the new engine designs controls the amount of air that goes into the engine which in turn affects the engine’s torque while maintaining the engine’s efficiency.

Design and Features

The Alfa Romeo Giulietta contains a wide verity of electronic devices which come as standard features in the car. The Vehicle Dynamic Control, Electronic Stability Control, Alfa DNA and Dynamic Steering Control are the standard features which helped the Giulietta gain a 5 star rating at the Euro NACP test results and makes it one of the safest compact cars to be ever built. The various trim levels available for the Giulietta and 3 different sized wheels are featured in the different trim levels of the Giulietta.


In 2010, a trim level, known as the Quadrifoglio Verde or the Quad Verde was launched and was the trim level with the highest number of specs and features a 1.75 Liters Turbocharged TBi engine and larger wheels etc. The Quad Verde variant was updated in 2014 at the Geneva Motor Show and features aluminum cast engine and a TCT twin dry suspension which is borrowed from the Alfa Romeo 4C. Below is the list of the different trim levels and their different engine and gearbox variants.

  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4 – the base model with the 1.4 liter engine and the standard features.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta DISTINCTIVE – the distinctive trim featured a few additional features and 6 speed manual gearbox and automatic dual-clutch drive versions.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta DISTINCTIVE JTD-M – featured a 2 liter Turbocharged diesel engine with a Dual-Clutch automatic drive.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta PROGRESSION 1.4 – the progression 1.4 featured a 1.4 liters petrol engine and a 6 speed manual gearbox. The multiair technology was also introduced to this engine in a separate variant.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta PROGRESSION JTD-M ¬– this version featured a 1.6 liters diesel engine and a front wheel drive 6 speed manual transmission. Multiair versions of this engine were also available.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta QUAD VERDE – the highest trim level, the Quad Verde was updated twice, once in 2010 and once in 2014. Featured several changes like larger wheels, stylish paintwork and sporty upholstery etc.
  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4 LPG Turbo – the LPG powered turbo engine variant was launched at the 2011, Bologna Motor Show. The 1.4 liter engine produced 88kw at 5000 RPM, 38 liters LPG tank and a 6 speed manual transmission.

Awards and Accolades

The Alfa Romeo Giulietta was featured in the Hollywood motion picture ‘The Fast and The Furious 6’ as one of the hero cars and spawned 6 limited edition cars with the cast member’s autographs on the dashboards. The various awards won by Alfa Romeo Giulietta are listed as follows.

  • Auto Europa 2011
  • Auto Trophy 2010 (Design Trophy – Compact Category) – Auto Zeitung
  • Compact Car of the Year Trophée L’Argus
  • Greek Car of the Year 2011
  • Czech Republic Car of the Year 2011
  • Die besten Autos 2010 – Import compact cars category – Auto, Motor und Sport
  • Die besten Autos 2011 – Import compact cars category – Auto, Motor und Sport

Image Credits @ Alfa Romeo